Home / Sabah Local News
Esscom vows to uphold sovereignty
Published on: Wednesday, April 02, 2014

Lahad Datu: The Eastern Sabah Security Command (Esscom), which entered its second year of establishment today (Wednesday), pledged to work with renewed determination to strengthen its presence in defending the sovereignty of the country and preserving security of citizens.

Its Director-General Datuk Mohammad Mentek said Esscom, which included four main components of the Malaysian Armed Forces, Royal Malaysian Police Forces, Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency (MMEA) and relevant government agencies, was always prepared to face any eventuality, including invasion and aggression of terrorists.

"The Government has no higher obligation than the protection of national sovereignty and the security of citizens. Esscom is entrusted by the Government to ensure the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (Esszone) is controlled and safe.

"With the cooperation of all parties, including RMAF, police and MMEA, we have formed a strong team to ensure no new incidents of invasion," he said when delivering his message to Esscom staff in conjunction with the first anniversary of its establishment, here, Tuesday.

He said Esscom started with a small number of staff to operate and using a temporary cabin at the marine police base.

"But now, Esscom office has moved to a new building at the Harbour City.

I remember our early establishment, we faced a shortage of officers, with only 48 positions created, but after a year, the number rose to 199 positions, showing the Government's seriousness in defending and protecting sovereignty and maintaining security," he said.

"After a year in operation, our government has been living up to its promise by providing the tools we needed to get the job done," he said.

As such, he urged every member of Esscom to help realise the vision of the Government's objective (sovereignty and security).

"Esscom's task is not easy. We face many challenges, including attempts by certain groups to create fear by spreading rumours or unfounded allegations on invasion and aggression.

"It turned out to be untrue. We wish to reiterate that action will be taken against those found indulging in such rumours," he said.

Meanwhile, the Esszone area covers 10 districts, namely Kudat, Kota Marudu, Pitas, Beluran, Sandakan, Kinabatangan, Lahad Datu, Kunak, Semporna and Tawau.

News Categories

Most Read