Sabah rejoin Arafura Games
Published on: Thursday, April 25, 2019
By: GL Oh

KOTA KINABALU: Sabah, after a 24-year lapse, will be taking part in the Arafura Games, which will begin tomorrow (April 26) until May 5 in Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia.

The 28-member team with six para-athletes will compete in swimming, athletics and sepak takraw out of the 17 events to be held.

Track and field athletes in the team are Aveyenda Aron, Azhad Kathidin Masile, Muhd Din Norbik, Mohd Nor Musyaraf M.S., Mohd Farid Iqwan Endjon, Isaiah Ng Jian Lung, Karmentina Nadia Quadra, Puteri Nur Safirah Gajali, Chelsea Cassiopea Evali Bopulas, Sharifah Aisyah Mohammad and Ikma Syaffiera Duris.

Aquatic athletes are Lovell Wong Hsiao Thang, Cheng Ka Man and  Chu Xin Ying while the women sepak takraw team members are Nadillatul Rosmahani Saidin, Elija Thomas, Mardiana Sharifuddin, Siti Hadifitri Navilla Jumidil, Roslina Aloysius, Nurfaezahni Masri, Madziatul Rosmahani Saidin and Nur Faizah Mohamad.

The six para athletes are Eddy Bernard, Jacklon Gandang, Felicia Mikat and Andrianshah Baguda for the track and field , with Brenda Anellia Larry and Abd Halim Mohammad in swimming.

Assistant Youth and Sports Minister Arunarsin Taib will head the delegate with MSN director Asneh Mohd Noor as the contingent head with 28 athletes including six para-athletes.

Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Frankie Poon in his speech read by Arunarsin at the flag handling ceremony at the Ministry on Wednesday urged the athletes to give their full commitment to ensure they have a successful outing.

Also present were Sabah Sports Board Chairman Dr. K.H. Tan, deputy permanent secretary Neldin Gimbang, Youth and Sports department (Federal) deputy Director Mohd. Mazlan Anis, Sabah Sports Board Director Aliudin Jumaat and Chairman of Pesron Sabah, Tan Hwa Koon.


Other News

Follow Us  

Follow us on            

Sports Top Stories