Tshung Tsin school retains athletics title
Published on: Saturday, February 22, 2020
Text Size:

SM Tshung Tsin contingent with their trophies after the closing ceremony on Friday.
Kota Kinabalu: SM Tshung Tsin successfully defended their overall title at the 52nd MSSD Kota Kinabalu Athletics Championship at Likas Stadium on Friday.

They won a total of 14 gold, 10 silver and six bronze medals to edge out second place SM Lok Yuk who also won 14 golds but only managed eight silver and five bronze medals while in third place were SM LaSalle with six golds, four silvers and four bronzes.

The Tshung Tsin girls proved too strong for the other schools by taking 10 golds in the Under-18 category and two in the Under-15 while the boys only managed two golds in the Under-18 category.

Eleven meet records were broken and one equalled in the four-day event with Muhd Dzulfikri Matin setting  three in the boys Under-18 2,000m steeplechase (7:03.35s New Record, 7:51.40s Old Record), 1,500m (4:36.91s New, 4:37.54s Old) and 3,000m (10:03.00s New, 10:13.16s Old).

Rey Dern on the other hand set one in the boys Under-18 400m (51.53s New, 52.03s Old) and also equalled the record in the 100m (10.53s).

The other new records were set by Elvie Lorin in the girls Under-15 200m hurdle (33.19s New, 33.54 Old), Mohd Fakhrurazzi Nor Sham in the boys Under-15 shot put (12.59m New, 11.47m Old), Fong Kuo Yoong in the boys Under-18 shot put (14.28m New, 12.07m  Old); Mitchelle Leong in the girls Heptathlon Open  (2553 points New, 2444 points Old), Muhd Isyjan Thomas Demond in the boys Under-15 100m (11.06s New, 11.08s Old) and SM Lok Yuk relay team set two in the girls Under-15 4 x 100m (54.22s New, 54.31s Old) and the boys Under-18 4 x 400m (3:40.78s New,  3:41.00s Old).

Meanwhile, the Best Athletes awards for the boys Under-18 category went to Rey Dern who won a total of three golds with the other in the 200m while Mitchelle Leong took the girls award.

In the Under-15 category, Muhd Isyhan Thomas Demond took the boys title and the girls title went to Elvie Lorin.

The closing ceremony was graced by DSP Lee Nyuk Kim representing Kota Kinabalu police chief Assistant Commissioner Habibi Majinji and he also gave out the main prizes to the winners.

Some 1,800 athletes from 54 primary and 26 secondary schools took part in championship which was officially launched by Assistant Education and Innovation Minister Jenifer Lasimbang representing the Minister Datuk Dr Yusof Yacob on Tuesday.



Other News

Follow Us  

Follow us on            

Sports Top Stories