Arena romps to U-18 title
Published on: Wednesday, February 26, 2020
By: GL Oh
Text Size:

KOTA KINABALU: Arena Satu Samin romped to the girls Under-18 singles title at the MSSS Badminton Championships which concluded at the Kota Belud Botung Sports Complex on Monday.

It was a stroll for the national junior player representing Kota Belud as she easily beat second seed Velerry Yap Ka Ying of Keningau in straight sets 21-7, 21-10 in the final.

Arena without dropping a set throughout the competition had earlier brushed aside Ummu Iffah Adyhimie Hedree of Tawau 21-8, 21-2 in the semi-final while Velerry defeated Kota Kinabalu’s Goh Shuen Tong 21-13, 21-16 in the other semi tie.

The boys title was won by Daniel Edry Elvestly @ Azman from Kota Marudu who beat Muhd Izzan Muazzam Pailis of Ranau 21-9, 21-17 in the final.

The semi-finals saw Daniel upset the top seeded Chia Wen Thin from Tawau 21-19, 21-13, while Izzan had to dig deep before overcoming Muhd. Azizi Zulkiflee from Kota Kinabalu 21-10, 16-21, 23-21.

Daniel also won another tile in the mixed doubles where he and Audrey Verylane Jointin defeated Liew Zu Yan and Ummu Iffah Adyhimie Hedree of Tawau 21-17, 21-12 in the final.

The semi-final was a tense affair for both finalists as Daniel and Audrey had to come from a set down to beat Muhamad Sufiandi Rosman and Dayang Nurnirwanee Irwan of Keningau 16-21, 21-15, 21-15 while Liew and Ummu also struggled to beat Kota Kinabalu’s Chong Jia Shen Roura and John Chua Gunj Yang 15-21, 21-15, 22-20.

In the doubles, the boys title went to Kota Kinabalu’s top seeds Naldo Fong Kuo Yoong and Quinton Yap Rung En with a straight sets 21-16, 21-16 victory over Liew Zu Yan and Oliver Robert from Tawau.

Both pairs booked their places in the final with the champions beating Beaufort’s Mohd Aidil Landulan and Muhd Zaidan Mohd Yamin 21-17, 21-15 while the losing finalists beat Mohammad Nadzrien and Muhammad Nazmi Kasmadi of Lahad Datu in their semi-final matches.

The girls title was won by Melody Wong Ji Ning and Rabiatul Hidayah Muhammad from  Kota Kinabalu who beat Eve Valentyna Ajirin and Farhanna Jasri from Tuaran 21-12, 21-15 in the final.

In the semi-finals, Eve and Farhanna defeated  Chin Wen Ying and Chloe Lim Qiao Yi of  Tawau 21-16, 21-16  while Melody and Rabiatul were stretched by Keningau’s  Jennifer Jekius and Velerry Yap Ka Ying before winning  21-10, 21-23, 21-14.

Meanwhile, the overall winners for the Under-18 category went to Kota Kinabalu with the 114 points they accumulated followed by Tawau with 100 and third went to Kota Marudu with their total of 60.

In the Under-12 and Under-15 categories played last week, Keningau were crowned overall champions with 171 points.

Second place went to Kota Belud with of 140 points followed by Kota Kinabalu with 120 points.

The closing ceremony was graced by Minister of Rural Development Datuk Ewon Benedick’s political secretary Carlye Lajimin and also present were Sabah Badminton Association president Janih Bangud, State Education Department student development sector deputy director Mudin Beting and Kota Belud district education officer Fadzli Abd Rodzan.


Other News

Follow Us  

Follow us on            

Sports Top Stories