Pakatan sticks to original choice of Anwar for PM post
Published on: Tuesday, July 07, 2020
By: Bernama
Text Size:

Kuala Lumpur: The Pakatan Harapan Presidential Council said it remains committed to its original stand of naming Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (pic) as its prime minister candidate.

The council is giving its full mandate to Anwar to continue talks with all parties, including Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal, to work on regaining the people’s mandate and for PH to take over as the Federal government.

“We are of the stand that all efforts must be carried out to regain the people’s mandate and needs the support of all parties,” the council said in a joint statement issued by PKR, Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) and DAP Monday.

At the same time, the council said it had also discussed the nomination of Shafie, who is Warisan president, as prime minister candidate.

It said PH was also consistent with its stand that the focus of the Federal and state governments should be on helping the people post-Covid-19.

“In this regard, we are of the opinion that should snap elections be called before the current five-year term ends, then state governments under PH administration should continue and not be dissolved,” the statement read.

PH and its allies currently hold four state governments: Selangor, Penang, Negri Sembilan and Sabah.

Following the 14th general election, it had also won Kedah, Perak, Johor and Melaka, but lost it following a Perikatan Nasional (PN) takeover of Putrajaya.

The collapse of these state government under PH have been attributed to state lawmakers from Bersatu, PKR and even the DAP switching sides to support the PN administration under Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

Even Selangor has been facing speculation of a change in administration following rumours that several of its lawmakers, purportedly those aligned with former PKR deputy president Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali, would switch their support to PN instead.

The council also unanimously rejected Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin’s motion that proposed to remove Tan Sri Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof as Parliament speaker and DAP deputy secretary-general Nga Kor Ming as the deputy. 


Other News

Follow Us  

Follow us on            

National Top Stories