Anwar sworn in as Malaysia's 10th PM
Published on: Thursday, November 24, 2022
Text Size:

Anwar Ibrahim taking his oath as the country’s 10th prime minister.
Anwar Ibrahim taking his oath as the country’s 10th prime minister.
PETALING JAYA: Pakatan Harapan chairman Anwar Ibrahim has been sworn in as Malaysia’s 10th prime minister.

The Tambun MP took his oath of office before the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah, at Istana Negara.

Earlier today, Istana Negara said the King had consented to Anwar’s appointment to the top post following discussions with the Malay rulers this morning.

The King had initially asked PH and Perikatan Nasional to form a unity government, but Muhyiddin Yassin, the latter’s chairman, said he turned this down as PN could not work with PH.

While Gabungan Parti Sarawak and Gabungan Rakyat Sabah initially backed Muhyiddin as prime minister, the two Bornean coalitions eventually said they would follow the King’s wish for a unity government.

Meanwhile, late last night, Umno’s Supreme Council said the party would support a unity government that was not led by PN.

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.



National Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us on            

Daily Express TV