Thu, 23 May 2024


Tshung Tsin Ren Spirit Award for five alumni
Published on: Sunday, July 17, 2016
Text Size:

Kota Kinabalu: Five deserving alumni of Sabah Tshung Tsin Secondary School (STTSS) were each honoured with the Tshung Tsin Ren Spirit Award for their immense contributions to society while promoting the true spirit of Tshung Tsin.They were Dr Liew Houng Bang, Dr Cheong Yee Tsing, Cheong Kok Ann, Theresa Tham and Ryan Kow Hong Yee.

The awards presentation was the highlight of the recent Tshung Tsin Xin Alumni Gala Dinner 2016 organised by Sabah Tshung Tsin Alumni Association (STTAA) at the Sabah Hakka Hall, here.

Consultant cardiologist Dr Liew, who graduated from STTSS in 1986, is the Head of Cardiology at Queen Elizabeth Hospital II (QEH II). He is a three-time winner of the Excellent Service Award presented by the State Health Department in 2000, 2010 and 2015, respectively.

From 2014 until today, he has been supervisor/assessor for the Ministry of Health Advanced Diploma for Cardiovascular Healthcare for cardiovascular technologists and nurses.

Born in Papar, Dr Cheong is a Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, Reproductive Medicine and Infertility Specialist.

While in government service at the QEH and later at the Sabah Women's and Children's Hospital, Likas, she received the Excellent Service Award from the State Health Department in 2002, 2007 and 2011.

Last year, she was honoured with the Outstanding Women's Award (Professional Category) presented by the Federation of Chinese Associations Sabah (FCAS), Women Division.

Architect Cheong, who completed his secondary education at STTSS in 1983, is a member of the Founding Organising Committee of Kota Kinabalu International Jazz Festival organised by SPArKS (Society of Performing Arts Kota Kinabalu Sabah).

Internationally, in the music arena, he was the lead artiste of pop jazz of a band called Jackfruit as the 1st Malaysian Band invited to perform in the 10th Nanjing Jazz & World Music Festival in 2011.

In the field of Achievement in Arts and Design, Cheong was the designer and project architect for Sabah's RUMAH TERBALIK which has officially entered the Malaysia Guinness Book of Records.

Tham is the Managing Director of Borneo Reef World. She co-founded "SponsorAVillage" together with her brother, Philip Tham and their cousin Edward.

The objectives are to support the education of children in remote Malaysian schools through the Room to Read and Write Program, and to create opportunities for students in remote villages to acquire the necessary English competency they need to get jobs in cities or to continue their education. The initiative started in schools in Tenom.

Presently, Kow, who won the Outstanding Student Award 2008, is an undergraduate in civil and structural engineering at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

As a graduate engineer with Leighton Contractors (Asia) Ltd, HK, he is involved in the construction of Mass Transit Rail (MTR) and bridge design in Hong Kong. He was appointed as one of the Protégé by the Hong Kong Institute of Engineers (HKIE) President in 2015/2016.

Among the 460 people who attended the dinner were Founder of STTAA, Tan Sri Joseph Lo, who was also the first chairman of the Association, Datuk Jimmy Yong, who is Chairman of STTSS Board of Governors, Fong Tet Kong, who is Chairman of the Institute Sinaran's Board of Governors, Datuk Nancy Ho who is the Vice-Chairperson cum Public Relations Committee Chairperson, Principal Hiew Hoh Shin and ex-Principal Lau Suan Hock.

Event Organising Chairperson cum President of STTAA, Serena Liew expressed her appreciation to all Tshung Tsin Ren (Tshung Tsin People) for supporting the event, especially the sponsors for retired teachers, teachers and staff as well as 20 students from Senior 3 classes.


Top Stories Today

Sabah Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us on             

Daily Express TV  

Try 1 month for RM 18.00
Already a subscriber? Login here

Try 1 month for RM 18.00

Already a subscriber? Login here