Thu, 18 Apr 2024


81 made Datuks; Azam tops list
Published on: Saturday, October 01, 2022
By: Hayati Dzulkifli
Text Size:

81 made Datuks; Azam tops list
Seri Panglima Darjah Kinabalu: (Top, from left) Azam, Illyas, Joachim and (from left) Kadzim, Lim and Mohd Noor.
Kota Kinabalu: Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) Chief Commissioner Tan Sri Azam bin Baki topped the list of 1,407 recipients of Sabah state honours on the occasion of the 69th birthday of Head of State Tun Juhar (Dr) Mahiruddin.

Azam was conferred the highest State award of Seri Panglima Darjah Kinabalu (SPDK) which carries the title “Datuk Seri Panglima” together with former Mayor Datuk Illyas bin Ibrahim followed by Deputy Chief Minister cum Industrial Development Minister Datuk Dr Joachim Gunsalam, Speaker of State Legislative Assembly Datuk Kadzim M. Yahya,  SMJ Petroleum Advisor Dato’ Sri Lim Haw Kuang and the former State Finance Minister cum SAPP advisor Datuk Mohammad Noor bin Mohammad Mansoor.

Panglima Gemilang Darjah Kinabalu: (Top, from left) Juliah, Chandra, Edward and (from left) Taufiq, Flovia, Andi.

(Top, from left) Liang, Vui Kee, NK Foo and (from left) Lucy and Noraini

Eighty one others received the Panglima Gemilang Darjah Kinabalu (PGDK) which carries the title “Datuk”. They include wife of the Chief Minister Datin Seri Juliah Salag, State Police Commissioner Dato’ Idris bin Abdullah, Federal Finance Deputy Minister Yamani Hafez bin Tan Sri Musa Aman, Yayasan Nur Jauhar Chairman Brig. General Al-Hambra bin Tun Juhar, Fifth Division Army Major-General Abdul Rahman bin A. Wahab, Esscom Commander DCP Hamzah Ahmad, Esscom Head of Land Operations SAC Chandrasehkaran A/L Muthu, National Security Council (NSC) Sabah Director Datuk Noor Alam Khan bin A. Wahid Khan, Sabah Immigration Department Director SH Sitti Saleha @ SH Saleha bin Habib Yussof, Chief Minister’s Department Media and Communications Director Datin Lucy Yong, State Education Department Director Tah Nia binti Jaman, SAPP Deputy President Edward Dagul, Star Sec-Gen Edward Linggu and former Consul-General of People’s Republic of China Consulate in Kota Kinabalu Liang Caide.

Several assistant ministers were also conferred the PGDK namely State Finance Assistant Minister Jasnih Daya, Youth and Sport Assistant Minister Andi Muhammad Suryady bin Bandy, Community Development and People’s Wellbeing Assistant Minister Flovia Ng, Rural Development Assistant Minister Harun bin Durabi and Local Government and Housing Assistant Minister Mohamd Hamsan bin Awang Supain;

Senator Noraini Idris, Lumadan assemblyman Ruslan Muharam, Balung assemblyman Hamild@Hamid bin Awang, Sebatik assemblyman Hassan A Ghani PG Amir, Tempasuk assemblyman Mohd Arsad bin Bistari, NCT Exec Director Thomas Ng Vui Kee and nominated assemblyman Jaffari bin Waliam.

Others made Datuk were Daily Express Chief Editor James Sarda, Kota Kinabalu High Court Judge Ismail Brahim, Sibu High Court Judge Christopher Chin Soo Yin, Petronas Senior Vice President Bacho bin Pilong@Pelu,  SME Sabah Association President Foo Ngee Kee and former UMS Vice-Chancellor Prof Dr Taufiq Yap Yun Hin.

Nine people were made “Justices of the Peace”. They include Deputy Chief Minister cum Agriculture and Fisheries Minister Datuk Seri Dr Jeffrey G. Kitingan, his assistant Hendrus Anding, former Sekong assemblyman Datuk Samsudin Yahya, MACC Deputy Chief Commissioner Dato’ Sri Ahmad Khusairi bin Yahaya and KPJ Sabah Specialist Hospital Medical Director Datuk Dr Ajaz Ahmad bin Nabijan.

Several media practitioners in Sabah were recipients of the “Ahli Darjah Kinabalu (ADK)”. They were former Berita Harian senior journalist Suziannah Jiffar who is now Deputy Director of Media and Communications in the Chief Minister’s Department, its media officer Carolyn Maurice and former Berita Harian journalist Mohd Azrone bin Sarabatin. Senior journalist of Utusan Borneo Abd Naddin bin Shaiddin received the “Bintang Setia Kinabalu” (BSK)  while among the “Bintang Kinabalu” recipients were Daily Express Tawau stringer Chrisy Chok Lee Lui and Sabah Information Department Sabah head of photography Azman Jumat, its senior photographer Johnny Kimlon, photographer Vicky Matanjang and Japen Sabah publication assistant Jeanne Sompong.

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.


Top Stories Today

Sabah Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us on             

Daily Express TV  

Try 1 month for RM 18.00
Already a subscriber? Login here

Try 1 month for RM 18.00

Already a subscriber? Login here