Thu, 18 Apr 2024


Muhyiddin unveils PN’s shadow Cabinet, Kiandee in it
Published on: Thursday, February 02, 2023
By: FMT, Elill Easwaran
Text Size:

Muhyiddin unveils PN’s shadow Cabinet, Kiandee in it
PN chairman Muhyiddin Yassin says the coalition wants to be an effective and responsible opposition.
Kuala Lumpur: Perikatan Nasional (PN) chairman Muhyiddin Yassin has unveiled the coalition’s shadow Cabinet, which sees the former prime minister becoming the chief of PN MPs.

PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang was named as Muhyiddin’s deputy, while PN secretary-general Hamzah Zainudin remained the opposition leader.

Putrajaya MP Radzi Jidin was given the finance portfolio, while Indera Mahkota MP Saifuddin Abdullah was tasked with the education and higher education portfolios.

“We want to be an effective and responsible opposition,” Muhyiddin said at a press conference here, adding that people wanted to see what was PN’s “DNA” since the coalition was still relatively new.

Muhyiddin said the coalition’s secretariat will issue policy statements on various issues related to the economy, environment, international, defencee and national security.

“We will present them so the people know that we are ready to shoulder a bigger responsibility if they give us the mandate to govern the country,” he said.

He also said a secretariat had been established for PN MPs, with a research team and experts to help them increase their knowledge and expertise in their respective fields.

“Although they are just MPs, the responsibility of helping the country to solve problems will still be shouldered by our MPs,” said Muhyiddin.

Here is the full list of MPs in PN’s shadow Cabinet:

Chief of PN MPs:

Muhyiddin Yassin

Deputy chief of PN MPs:

Abdul Hadi Awang

Opposition Leader:

Hamzah Zainudin

Finance and Economic Affairs:

Radzi Jidin

Rural and Regional Development:

Shahidan Kassim

Plantation and Commodities:

Azman Nasrudin


Khairil Nizam Khirudin

Agriculture and Food Security:

Ronald Kiandee

Local Government Development:

Ismail Mutallib


Ikmal Hisham Abdul Aziz


Che Zulkifly Jusoh

Home Affairs:

Takiyuddin Hassan

International Trade and Industry:

Ku Abdul Rahman Ku Ismail

Education and Higher Education:

Saifuddin Abdullah

Science, Innovation and Technology:

Ahmad Amzad Hashim

Women, Family and Community Development:

Siti Zailah Yusoff

Domestic Trade and Cost of Living:

Rosol Wahid

Natural Resources, Environment and Climate Change:

Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man

Entrepreneur and Cooperatives Development:

Muslimin Yahaya

Foreign Affairs:

Wan Ahmad Fayshal Wan Ahmad Kamal

Tourism, Arts and Culture:

Suhaimi Abdullah

Communication and Digital:

Wan Saiful Wan Jan

National Unity:

Halimah Ali

Youth and Sports:

Ahmad Fadhli Shaari

Human Resources:

Awang Hashim

Health Ministry:

Ahmad Yunus Hairi

Prime Minister’s Department:

Religious Affairs:

Idris Ahmad

Law and Institutional Reform:

Mas Ermieyati Samsudin

Sabah and Sarawak Affairs, and Special Functions:

Ali Biju

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.



Top Stories Today

National Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us on             

Daily Express TV  

Try 1 month for RM 18.00
Already a subscriber? Login here

Try 1 month for RM 18.00

Already a subscriber? Login here