Wan Rosdy, Mohamed Khaled, Johari secure Umno VP posts
Published on: Sunday, March 19, 2023
By: Bernama
Text Size:

Wan Rosdy, Mohamed Khaled, Johari secure Umno VP posts
KUALA LUMPUR: The Umno state liaison committee chairmen for Pahang,  Johor and Federal Territories -  Datuk Seri Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail, Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin and Datuk Seri Johari Abdul Ghani were officially confirmed as the party’s vice-presidents for the term 2023-2026 upon the conclusion of the party polls held yesterday. 

Umno Elections Committee chairman Tan Sri Syahrir Abdul Samad, in announcing this today, said Wan Rosdy, the Pahang Menteri Besar, garnered the highest number of votes with 126, followed by Mohamed Khaled, who is also Higher Education Minister (115 votes) and Johari (109 votes). 

The three veteran Umno leaders got the better of five other candidates, namely Pengerang MP Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said who obtained 72 votes, former Kepala Batas MP Datuk Seri Reezal Merican Naina Merican (48 votes), former Johor MB Datuk Ir Hasni Mohammad (42 votes), former vice-president Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid (40 votes) and Dr Mohd Yusof Musa, who failed to get any votes. 

He said 187 divisions were involved in the polls for the central leadership positions, which also saw the permanent chairmen’s post being retained by Tan Sri Badruddin Amiruldin after securing 176 votes against challenger Datuk Syamsul Najmi Shamsudin who obtained nine votes.

“Datuk Seri Abdul Fattah Abdullah, meanwhile, will assume the deputy permanent chairman’s post,” he told a media conference at Menara Dato Onn here today.



National Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us on            

Daily Express TV