Tue, 30 May 2023



10 parliamentary committees formed
Published on: Tuesday, March 21, 2023
By: FMT, Predeep Nambiar
Text Size:

10 parliamentary committees formed
Members of the parliamentary committees will be chosen by a selection committee headed by Dewan Rakyat Speaker Johari Abdul. (Facebook pic)
Kuala Lumpur: Ten bipartisan parliamentary committees have been set up to look into issues of national interests, the Dewan Rakyat was told today.

The committees will cover finance, health, cost of living, transport, education, security and human rights, among others.

Tabling a motion to set up the committees, law and institutional reform minister Azalina Othman Said said they will act as a check and balance mechanism for ministries.

The parliamentary committee members will be chosen by a selection committee headed by Speaker Johari Abdul.

Besides Azalina, others on the committee are deputy prime minister Fadillah Yusof, transport minister Loke Siew Fook, economy minister Rafizi Ramli, opposition leader Hamzah Zainudin and Kota Bharu MP Takiyuddin Hassan.

Azalina also said the previous 10-member All-Party Parliamentary Group Malaysia that discusses various issues will not be disbanded.

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.



National Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us on            

Daily Express TV