Sun, 19 May 2024


Ronald is crowned Mr Sabah
Published on: Monday, September 18, 2023
By: GL Oh
Text Size:

Ronald is crowned Mr Sabah
Ronald showing off his trophy.
Kota Kinabalu: Ronald Charles Rycho from DMD Menggatal Gym was crowned Mr Sabah at the  Mr Sabah 2023 Bodybuilding and Physique Championship held at KDCA Hongkod Hall, Penampang on Friday.

In addition to the Champion of Champions title, he had earlier won the title in the 75.1-80 kg category  by beating Heldy Kihog who finished as runner-up while Elvian Onduri was third.

Some 120 athletes took part in the competition and Shedy Dorunsi was the winner in the below 55kg category. In second place was John Raynold Anak Achon and Jebeorino Jebing in third.

In the 55.1-60kg category, the title went to Arafat Kunai followed by Mohamad Najib Hajimin and Amrun Asmawi Sidie.

Kamal Ariffin Abd Majid was the winner in the 60.1-65kg category and in second place was Martin Magalai followed by Eryson Rasimun in third. 

The 65.1-70kg title was won by last year’s winner Nicholas Li Boon Shiew with Ashraf Hamzah and Rieonie Mcmkenziey Linus in second and third place respectively.

Abdul Rahim Atin captured the 70.1-75 kg title by beating Suhaili Toipin @ Masdin into second place and Jauneh Leman in third.

The 80.1-85kg title went to Douglas Kong and in second and third place were David Sakai and Bob Fender James respectively.

In the 85.1-90kg, Joel Justin was the winner and Lee Chee Kiong took the second spot with Mohd Asyrah Akhmal in third place, while the top three places in the above 90kg category went to Luke Pheodor Erward James, Bryan Leong Vui Siung and Mohd Sharmickmail Abdul Rahman.

JS Gym’s Lily Nur Izzaty Ahmad came top in the women’s event by capturing two titles in the  bodybuilding and physique categories.

Second and third places in the women bodybuilding category went to Janetha Lingham, Syarifah Atikah James Abdullah while Janetha Lingam also finished second in the physique category with Julita Masanalan in third place.

Meanwhile, Mohd Asraf Hamzah was judged the best physique below 170cm ahead of Nicholas Li Boon Shiew and Eryson Rasimun while the top three places in the above 170cm category went to Bryan Isidore, Mohd Fadini Azli and Reynold Kok.

Best poser titles went to Bryan Isidore Tubong (men) and Janeta Linggam (women).

In the master category, Jauneh Leman defeated Andreas Baritus to take the title with Elvian Ondui in third place.

The top three winners in the junior category went to Mohd Dzulkifli Rasul, Charlie Chellnes and Carl Davis Donney.

The team overall title went to PDRM and the closing ceremony was officiated by Datuk Tan Lee Huat. 

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.


Top Stories Today

Sports Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us on             

Daily Express TV  

Try 1 month for RM 18.00
Already a subscriber? Login here

Try 1 month for RM 18.00

Already a subscriber? Login here