Tue, 27 Feb 2024



Spirit of MA63 was kept secret by past governments: PKR
Published on: Monday, November 27, 2023
Text Size:

Spirit of MA63 was kept secret by past governments: PKR
Hajiji was among those who attended the Congress.
PUTRAJAYA: The Unity Government under the leadership of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, who is PKR President, is open to discussing and is consistent in fighting for the agenda in the Malaysia Agreement 1963 (MA63).

A delegate from Sabah, Antakor Rasam, during the debate session at the PKR Annual National Congress 2023, said that PKR is the only party that places importance on the rights of the peninsula, Sabah and Sarawak in the party constitution.

According to him, this proves that PKR is a political party that truly has a Malaysian spirit in line with the spirit of the formation of a nation following the merger of Malaya, Sabah and Sarawak.

“All this while MA63 seems to be kept a secret. When Anwar was appointed Prime Minister (10th), he appointed a deputy prime minister from Borneo (Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof).

“Anwar also immediately formed the Technical Committee on MA63 and it even became history when Parliament approved the amendment of the Malaysian Inland Revenue Board (IRB) Act to allow representatives of the governments of Sabah and Sarawak to be appointed as Members of the IRB,” he added.

The two-day PKR National Congress, which started yesterday, is being held at the Putrajaya International Convention Center (PICC) here.

According to Clause 5, Article 5.8 of the PKR Constitution, the party upholds the spirit of cooperation and fair sharing of power between Sabah, Sarawak and Peninsular Malaysia by empowering a fair political and economic position in accordance with the framework of MA63.

Chief Minister Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor who is also Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) Chairman was among those who attended the Congress.

It was was also attended by other leaders of the Unity Government from Sabah, among them being Sabah Pakatan Harapan Chairperson Datuk Christina Liew, Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) President Datuk Arthur Joseph Kurup, Pertubuhan Kebangsaan Sabah Bersatu (Usno) President tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia and Parti Liberal Demokratik President Datuk Chin Su Phin.

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.



Top Stories Today

National Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us on             

Daily Express TV  

Try 1 month for RM 18.00
Already a subscriber? Login here

Try 1 month for RM 18.00

Already a subscriber? Login here