Mon, 4 Mar 2024


Karapaw crowned tug of war champs
Published on: Monday, December 11, 2023
By: GL Oh
Text Size:

Karapaw crowned tug of war champs
The Karapaw team members and officials.
Kota Kinabalu: Sabah’s Karapaw Dragon Boat team emerged as tug of war champions in the Penang International Dragon Boat Regatta (PIDBR) 2023 held at Teluk Bahang Dam, Penang recently.

The eight-member team defeated Beijing International Dragonboat team in the final round to take the title.

Team leader Tonny Gudang said despite being relatively new to the sport, they were able to win the title with strong team spirit.

“We were the only representative from Sabah and we did not put too much hope on our chances with the participation of many experienced teams from home and abroad.

“Furthermore, some of our members have just taken up the sport. This victory will definitely be a source of inspiration to all those who want to make a name for the State and the country in the future,” he said.

Meanwhile, the team members of Karapaw are Doris Lambert, Fauzie Matjini, Mohd Syahrom Pilok,  Flora Gudang, Barbara Gloria Barahim, Antonio Battistessa, Masni Deri and Shukri Maidin.

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.



Top Stories Today

Sports Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us on             

Daily Express TV  

Try 1 month for RM 18.00
Already a subscriber? Login here

Try 1 month for RM 18.00

Already a subscriber? Login here