Sun, 21 Apr 2024


Sabah Games: Kota Kinabalu closing in on leaders Sandakan
Published on: Tuesday, December 19, 2023
By: GL Oh
Text Size:

Sabah Games: Kota Kinabalu closing in on leaders Sandakan
Some of the action during the sepak takraw men’s team final. – Information Department photo
Kota Kinabalu: Sandakan continued to lead the medal standing in the 10th Sabah Games based on the official table released late on Monday.

They remained with six golds, two silvers and five bronzes but defending champions Kota Kinabalu are hot on their heels with four golds, three silvers and four bronzes.

Kota Kinabalu added their two gold medals late on Sunday from archery and cycling.

Archer Aloysius Gabriel delivered gold in the men’s compound 50m event with the silver going to Papar’s Muhd Irfan Sobrun Masahudi and bronze to Kota Kinabalu’s Nathaniel Tan Zhi We.

The other gold was from the men’s time trial cycling team. Silver went to Tawau and Beaufort took the bronze.

A competitor in action during the long jump event. – Information Department photo

In the individual cycling event held on Sunday, the gold medal in the men’s time trial went to Tawau’s Mohd Zahir Zahari, silver to  Muhd Shukrie Rodia from Kota Kinabalu and bronze to Penampang’s Muhd Alfadz Fiqri Abd Bayan.

Kota Marudu’s Nurwahidah Ozri took the gold in the women’s category with Ranau’s Drevionna Magdelynna Davin taking the silver and bronze went to Nabawan’s Jacquelyn Jimmy.

Only seven final results were available at press time on Monday evening.

Nur Denisha Shazlia Abdullah won the first gold medal in athletics for Kalabakan at the Tuaran Sports Complex in the morning.

She took the women’s 5000m title in a time of 20 minutes 56.71 seconds followed by Pitas’ Efyna Ares Lizod (20:59.66s) for the silver and Ranau’s Ledia Engku (21:37.94) took the bronze.

Kota Marudu’s Frenynila Sherly Lucius (66.78s) won the women’s 400m hurdles title followed by Veeronica Seibit (68.95s) from Ranau and Kalabakan’s Golaria Eilisca Joeneh (70.23s).

Ranau’s Elvin Esak (56.01s) was the winner in the men’s category ahead of Tambunan’s Aidan Andrew Daniel (56.05s) and Kalabakan’s Muhd Firdaus Darus Salam (57.78s)

Muaythai exponents in action at the cultural hall in Penampang. – Information Department photo

In sepak takraw, the men’s team gold went to Tenom who beat Beluran 2-1 in the final while the women’s team gold was won by Beluran after defeating Papar 2-0.

Bronze medals went to Papar and Tawau for the men while the women winners were Tawau and Tuaran.

In cycling, Tawau’s Begurdy Akmal Thaqif took the title and gold in the men’s 200m sprint followed by Kota Marudu’s Lee Jun and Beaufort’s Zuraidi Muhd Aiman Zakwan in third place while the top three places in the women’s category went to Ranau’s Davin Drevionna Magdelynna, Nur Dini Nazifa Ag Ali from Membakut and Tuaran’s Evlighta Willborn. 

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.


Top Stories Today

Sports Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us on             

Daily Express TV  

Try 1 month for RM 18.00
Already a subscriber? Login here

Try 1 month for RM 18.00

Already a subscriber? Login here