Wed, 17 Jul 2024


Landslide victory for Prabowo and Gibran in S Papua
Published on: Sunday, March 17, 2024
By: Antara News
Text Size:

Landslide victory for Prabowo and Gibran in S Papua
Subianto (left) and Rakabuming Raka will need to wait for the presidential inauguration scheduled for Oct 20, 2024.
JAKARTA: Presidential candidate Prabowo Subianto and his running mate Gibran Rakabuming Raka have scored a landslide victory in South Papua with 162,852 valid votes, the General Elections Commission (KPU) announced at a plenary meeting here on Friday.

Meanwhile, Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD polled 110,003 votes, and Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar received 41,906 votes. The total number of voters going to polling stations was recorded at 320,386.

According to a member of the KPU-South Papua Office, Theresia Mahuze, who attended the KPU’s plenary meeting, the total number of registered voters in the province’s final voter list (DPT) was 367,269.

Of the number, only 306,486 registered voters went to polling stations on Election Day (February 14, 2024), she informed.

In addition to them, at least 2,471 voters registered in the additional voter list and 11,429 voters registered in the special voter list (DPK) also cast their votes on Election Day.

Indonesians have given their mandate. At least 1.7 million voters living abroad cast their votes for the General Elections before February 14, while more than 203 million voters residing in Indonesia flocked to polling stations on Election Day.

Voters living outside Indonesia cast their ballot at 828 polling stations through 1,580 mobile voting boxes and 651 postal services, while Indonesian residents voted at 820,161 polling stations.

On Election Day, polling stations at 84 electoral districts in 38 provinces remained open from 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. local time.

In the meantime, several pollsters’ quick counts, broadcast on the country’s national TV stations, have revealed favourable results for the Prabowo-Gibran pair.

After the official result of the KPU’s final manual vote count is out, the winning candidate pair will need to wait for the presidential inauguration, which is scheduled to take place on October 20, 2024. 

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.


Top Stories Today

Asean Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us              

Daily Express TV  

Try 1 month for RM 18.00
Already a subscriber? Login here

Try 1 month for RM 18.00

Already a subscriber? Login here