Sun, 21 Jul 2024


Awatif, Hafizahanani bag dinghy overall marathon title
Published on: Wednesday, June 05, 2024
By: GL Oh
Text Size:

Awatif, Hafizahanani bag dinghy overall marathon title
Christina (seated, fifth from left) with all the medal winners.
Kota Kinabalu: Nur Awatif Safri and her crew Nur Hafizahanani from Sabah Sailing Association (Saila) captured the Dinghy Open overall marathon title at the 36th Harvest Festival and Sabah Fest Open Day Regatta 2024 held in Tanjung Aru on Sunday.

Second place went to another Saila team comprising Mohd Shahieran and Muhd Aiman Adam while in third place were Chia Ching Byn and Kelly Yin from Kinabalu Yacht Club.

The top two winning teams also finished first and second in the International 420 overall marathon division with Bibi Qeesha and Natasha Wong in third place.

Chia Ching Byn and Kelly Yin were the winners in the International 470 overall marathon division after finishing ahead of Mohd Afiq Irsyad Adam-Melvin Sikayun and in third place was the pairing of  Michael Robert-Haron Aziz in third place who also took the veteran title. 

In the ICLA 7 overall marathon division, the title was won by Cody Long Tse Nan followed by Muhd Fadzlin Hassan and Muhd Husaini Mohd. The top two places in the ICLA 6 overall marathon division went to Muhd Asnawi Iqbal and Laurenz Leonardo Daim.

The top three winners in the ICLA 4 overall marathon division were Mohd Syahieradham, Zeti Irdina Zainal, Adam Carraz while the top three in the Optimist overall marathon were Ziqri Luqman Zainal, Nur Hafizanah Zailan, Muhd Aiman Aqeel and Amirah Abdullah, Ahmad Wafiy Azzam Mohd Resal, Malique Anaqi Mohd Norhaifiy in the Optimist novice division.

Meanwhile, in the series races, Chia Ching Byn with Kelly Yin took the International 470 division overall title and in second place was Michael Robert and Haron Aziz followed by Mohd Afiq Irsyad  Adam and Melvin Sikayun. Michael and Haron also claimed the International 470 veteran division title.

The International 420 overall title was won by Mohd Shahieran-Muhd Aiman Adam followed by Nur Awatif Safri-Nur Hafizahanani and Bibi Qeesha-Natasha Wong.

The other series winners were Cody Long Tse Nan, Muhd Fadzlin Hassan, Muhd Husaini Mohd (ICLA 7 overall); Muhd Asnawi Iqbal, Laurenz Leonardo Daim (ICLA 6 overall); Mohd Syahieradham, Adam Carraz, Koh Yi Long (ICLA 4 boys); Zeti irdina Zainal, Koh Yi Xuan, Aalya Qarliesya Faizul Fazlan (ICLA 4 girls); Mohd Syahieradham, Zeti, Adam (ICLA overall); Muhd Aiman Aqeel, Nur Hafizanah Zailan, Ziqri Luqman (Optimist overall); Muhd Aiman Aqeel, Nur Hafizanah , Ziqri Luqman (Optimit division A); Muhd Abqaari Irham, Muhd Harith Qaiser Ahmad Mokhdas, Xi Chency Chen (Optimist division B); Andre Martin, Macy Mosom Sikayun, Muhd Rayyan Zharif Zulfadli Azri (Optimist division C); Jazel Qalish Izwani Hasdanizam, Amirah Abdullah, Malique Anaqi Mohd Norhaifiy (Optimist novice overall); Mohd Azmi Kahmis, Lucqmann Racheed, Marcella Wilson Villaceran (Windsurf open overall): Abidin Aliakbar, Mitchell Llyod Cini, Nick Boura (Windsurf close men division); Amabel Seow Min Hui (Windsur close women division); Muhd Aiman Aqeel, Danyal Marczqui Rahmat Haron, Mohd Iftittah (Optimist overall).

A total of 78 sailors took part in the annual two-day event and the closing ceremony was graced by Tourism, Culture and Environment Minister Datuk Christina Liew.

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.


Top Stories Today

Sports Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us              

Daily Express TV  

Try 1 month for RM 18.00
Already a subscriber? Login here

Try 1 month for RM 18.00

Already a subscriber? Login here