Thu, 18 Jul 2024


Youth and Sports Ministry team crowned champions
Published on: Monday, June 17, 2024
By: GL Oh
Text Size:

Youth and Sports Ministry team crowned champions
(From left) Maximilian, Adeka, Mohd Sofian, Azrul, Desmond and Wilfred.
Kota Kinabalu: The Youth and Sports Ministry team captured the men’s team open title in the Sabah Economic Development Corporation (Sedco) Golf Challenge 2024 held at Nexus Golf Resort Karambunai (NGRK) recently.

The foursome of Desmond Qwek, Adeka Anding Aganduk, Maximilian Jr. Boijol and Wilfred Kaibal scored 114 points to edge team Lato-Lato comprising Datuk Mohd Sofian Alfian Nair, Afdlin Mikhail Mohd Sofian, Sazali Suadin and Mohammad Soffwan by three points.

Third place on count back went to the Sabah Energy team (John Ericson, Jabir Ismail, Haji Alfian Abd Rahman and Sabri Paning) who also recorded 111.

In the team’s closed category, Haji Azrul Haji Ahmad, Adrian Alang, Mohd Faizal Abu Bakar and Zul Fakhriy Asli from Sedco C accumulated a total of 110 points to take the title.

Second place went to Perkasa Realty Sdn Bhd (Haji Joidin Gahim, Dr. Christopher Mandut, Jepri Matius and Mat Saidi Minting) with 108 points and nine points behind in third was Sedcovest Holdings Sdn Bhd (Cannisius Ebin Gon, Suhaili Wahap, Muhd Sharifuddin Yaakub and Haji Harun Lister).

Jordan Mobijohn was the winner in the individual gross open title with two over par 74 followed by  Chali Awang (76) and Afdlin Mikhail Mohd Sofian (77). The top three winners in the closed category went to Dr. Christopher Mandut (79), Thor Gervasi (85) and Mordiana Abdullah (87).

The individual nett open title won by John Ericson (39 ocb) with Adeka Anding Aganduk (39) in second place and Maximilian Jr. Boijol (38) in third, while the top three places in the nett closed category went to Adrian Alang  (38), Haji Joidin Gahim (37) and Mohd Faizal Abu Bakar (36).

A total of 111 players from 29 teams took part in the annual tournament organised by Sedco.

Deputy Chief Minister cum Minister of Local Government and Housing Datuk Seri Joachim Gunsalam and State Deputy Speaker Datuk Al Hambra Tun Juhar both attended the meet.

Among those present at the closing ceremony were the Finance Ministry’s permanent secretary Datuk Mohd Sofian Alfian Nair, Industrial Development and Entrepreneurship Ministry’s permanent secretary Datuk Thomas Logijin, Sedco’s group general manager Haizar Razif Hisyam Ajaz Nabijan and his deputy Haji Azrul Haji Ahmad.

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.


Top Stories Today

Sports Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us              

Daily Express TV  

Try 1 month for RM 18.00
Already a subscriber? Login here

Try 1 month for RM 18.00

Already a subscriber? Login here