Sat, 20 Jul 2024


National Armwrestling Championship: Sabah top medal tally
Published on: Thursday, July 11, 2024
By: GL Oh
Text Size:

National Armwrestling Championship: Sabah top medal tally
The Sabah armwrestling contingent pose with their medals.
Kota Kinabalu: Sabah’s armwrestlers were in a class of their own as they topped the medal tally in the National Armwrestling Championship which concluded at Centre Point here on Sunday.

They captured 34 golds, 30 silvers and 21 bronzes while their closest rivals Putra Jaya only managed seven golds, three silvers followed by Sarawak with four golds, eight silvers and nine bronzes.

Those who won two gold medals each were Nesurey Petrus Lojuyo (senior women 57kg); Vivie victor (Under-21 women 57kg); Mohd Amir Fahmi (Under-18 boys’ 57kg); Nickelson Rony (senior men’s 105kg); Joyce Heng Shu Xia (senior women’s -70kg); Joffey Jolly (senior men’s -78kg); Junior Daniel Marcus (Under-18 junior 70kg); Esmond Ampilah (grandmaster +86kg); Jolly Johnson (grandmaster -86kg); Jonis bin Antong (master -70kg); Dicol (Under-21 -78kg); Juan Gary (Under-21 -78kg); Jumestalon Chongjun (senior men’s 57kg) and Damsi Abdullah (senior men 105kg).

The other medal contributors were Elyonie Henry (2 silvers); Vivie victor (2 bronzes); Nelviana Wong (2 bronzes); Flavia Fabiana (2 silvers); Nicole Amanda Jiral (2 bronzes); Avila Patrick (2 silvers);  Mohd Rafiz (silver and bronze); Chandra R.M. Majanan (2 silvers); Nicole Amanda Jiral (2 bronzes); Nathaneil Syulampit Fabian (gold and bronze); Elson Henry (silver and bronze); Alexender Elikson (2 silvers); Francis Louis (bronze); Maximus Mapanggil (2 silvers); Joierino Soibeh (silver); Elvin Edwin (2 bronzes); Afifuddin Mazlan (silver and bronze); Adrian Petrus (silver); Raymond Wong (gold); Victor Larry (gold and silver); Micky Cheah (silver); Alfred Mangabisbi (2 silvers); Andrew Wong (silver); Nathanael Evander Sooyon (gold and silver); Baruch Binabang (bronze); Earl Dominic Gregory (gold and silver); Christopher Dennis (bronze); Rony John (silver and bronze); Honesty Angandoi (gold and silver); Faris Danial (2 silvers); Caltuswister (2 silvers) and Calvin Anderson (gold).

Sabah Armwrestling Association president Carfester J. Mokujin congratulated the State contingent coached by Jolly Johnson and expressed his gratitude to all the participating teams.

He also thanked the Youth and Sports Ministry, Sabah Sports Council, Malaysia Armwrestling  Federation president Zil Fadli and all the sponsors for their support as well as the organising committee for their hard work. 

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.


Top Stories Today

Sports Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us              

Daily Express TV  

Try 1 month for RM 18.00
Already a subscriber? Login here

Try 1 month for RM 18.00

Already a subscriber? Login here