Home / Local News

Shafie names Cabinet
Published on: Thursday, May 17, 2018

Kota Kinabalu: New Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal unveiled his Cabinet line-up, Wednesday, that saw three new ministries to tackle health and people's wellbeing, education and Law and Native Affairs. Overall, the new State Cabinet comprises 20 representatives from Warisan, four from DAP, two each for PKR and Upko and one formerly from Umno.

They were sworn in at the Istana Negeri on Wednesday before Head of State Tun Juhar Mahiruddin.

Shafie, who is Parti Warisan Sabah President, also holds the finance portfolio, assisted by Inanam Assemblyman Kenny Chua (PKR) and Merotai Assemblyman Saripuddin Hatta (Warisan).

The 29-member State Cabinet also has two Members of Parliament – Stephen Wong Tien Fatt (DAP) and Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau – being appointed full ministers through being made Nominated Assemblymen.

A victorious Sabah State Government is entitled to six Nominated Assemblymen but Shafie decided to use up two of the quota.

Wong, who is Sandakan MP, has been appointed Minister of Health and People's Wellbeing while Tuaran MP Madius, as Deputy Chief Minister cum Minister of Commerce and Industry.

Madius, who is President of Upko whose party quit Barisan Nasional after the general elections to form a coalition government with Parti Warisan Sabah and its partners, state PKR and DAP, is one of three who have been appointed as Deputy Chief Ministers.

The other two Deputy Chief Ministers are Christina Liew (Api-Api-PKR) who is in charge of Tourism, Culture and Environment and Dato Jaujan Sambakong (Sulabayan-Warisan) as Minister of Local Government and Housing.

Sindumin Assemblyman Datuk Dr Yusof Yacob (Warisan) heads the new Ministry of Education and Innovation, assisted by Mohammad Mohamarin (Banggi-Warisan) and Jenifer Lasimbang (Moyog-Warisan).

Datuk Hj Aidi Mokhtar (Pantai Manis-Warisan) has been appointed Minister of Law and Native Affairs.

His assistant ministers are Hj Uda Sulai (Petagas- Warisan) and the former Suhakam Commissioner and Indigenous rights advocate, Jannie Lasimbang (Kepayan-DAP).

The rest of the full ministers are Datuk Peter Anthony (Melalap-Warisan) as Minister of Infrastructure Development, Junz Wong (Tanjung Aru-Warisan) as Minister of Agriculture and Food Industries, Ewon Benedick (Kadamaian-Upko) as Minister of Rural Development and Poon Ming Fung @ Frankie (Tanjong Papat) as Minister of Youth and Sports.

Sri Tanjong Assemblyman Jimmy Wong (DAP) and Sekong Assemblyman Arifin Asgali (Warisan) have been appointed Assistant Ministers in the Chief Minister's Department.

The rest of the Assistant Ministers are Ben Chong (Tanjong Kapor-Warisan) and Hj Azhar Datuk Matussin (Karambunai-Warisan) who are in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry; Assaffal Alian (Tungku-Warisan) in the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Environment; Hiew Vun Zin (Karamunting-Warisan) Ministry Local Government and Housing; Norazlinah Arif (Kunak-Warisan) Ministry of Health and People's Wellbeing; Daud Yusof (Bongawan-Warisan) Ministry of Agriculture and Food Industries; Rasinin Binkoutis @ Kautis (Liawan-Warisan) and Dumi Pg Masdal (Lahad Datu-Warisan) Rural Development Ministry and Arunarnsin Taib (Gum-Gum-Warisan) Ministry of Youth and Sports.

Sebatik Assemblyman Datuk Muis Picho, who defected from Umno/BN, has been appointed Assistant Minister of Infrastructure Development.

Last Friday, incumbent CM Tan Sri Musa Aman also named his State Cabinet line-up after being legally sworn in before Tun Juhar and in the presence of Chief Justice of Sabah and Sarawak, Tan Sri Richard Malanjum.

However, the following day Musa was asked to resign by Juhar but refused and held his first post-swearing in cabinet meeting. Those he appointed to several posts also turned up at the various ministries later to familiarise themselves.

In the meantime that same day (Saturday), Shafie claimed the right to the chief ministership when Upko's Madius Tangau showed up at Shafie's residence to declare support for Warisan. He was duly sworn in that night by Juhar and also in the presence of Malanjum.

The Istana then issued a notice that Musa is not the Chief Minister. - Leonard Alaza and Sherell Ann Jeffrey


Other News
Top Stories Today


Follow Us  

Follow us on            

Local Top Stories