Sabah Malaysian Chinese Association wants to contest 4 seats in 15th General Election
Published on: Monday, June 27, 2022
By: Mohd Izham Hashim
Text Size:

Kota Kinabalu: Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) Sabah will negotiate with its allies in Barisan Nasional (BN) to allow the party to contest four parliamentary seats in the 15th General Election, said Sabah MCA Chairman Lu Yen Tung (pic). 

The four seats are Kota Kinabalu, Batu Sapi, Sandakan and Tawau which comprise of Chinese majority population. 

“There are four traditional Chinese seats in Sabah. MCA is the only Chinese party in BN right now. So, we are looking into getting those seats, however this will be done through negotiations within the party and the BN coalition,” Lu said after officiating the Sabah MCA Kota Kinabalu division annual conference. Lu declined to comment when questioned on the possibility of same seat skirmishes with Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS).

“I don’t know. No comment. There has not been any discussion with BN yet,” he said. As for the four parliamentary seats, Kota Kinabalu and Sandakan are currently held by the Democratic Action Party (DAP) while Batu Sapi was won on a Warisan ticket and Tawau is held by Parti Keadilan Rakyat(PKR). 

Among those who attended the event include KK MCA Division Chief Datuk Dr Pamela Yong and former BN executive secretary Datuk Dr Ahmad Masrizal Muhammad. 

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.


Sabah Top Stories


Follow Us  

Follow us on            

Daily Express TV